The Official Site of Shaykh Abdul Raheem (hafizahullah)

Q747: Chocolate croissants; halal or haram?

Question

اسلامعليكم
Molana, i have an enquiry to make. are we allowed to eatMcvities Mini Chocolate Croissants. the Ingredients is:
Chocolate Flavour Fillings (34%) (Sugar, Vegetable Fat, Water, Fat Reduced Cocoa Powder (2.5%), Dried SkimmedMilk,Preservatives (Alcohol, Potassium Sorbate), Emulsifier (E472b), Flavourings, Gelling Agent (Sodium Alginate)] ,Wheat Flour ,Margarine [Vegetable Oil, Water, Emulsifier (E471), Salt, Citric Acid, Preservative (Potassium Sorbate)] ,Water ,Sugar ,Egg Yolk ,Butter ,Emulsifiers (E471, Lecithin) ,Yeast ,Salt ,Flavourings ,Preservative (Calcium Propionate) ,Milk Protein ,Thickener (Xanthan Gum) ,Citric Acid.

Please Can you email back with the answer. May Allah accept your khidmat for his deen, And remember me in urDuas. jzk

Answer

Walaikumussalam w w

If the product clearly states ‘suitable for vegetarians’ then it’s most likely halal.

Otherwise e471 and e472 could be from vegetable sources, yet they could be from animal sources. So you would have to be a bit careful. We can’t say for certain that it’s haram. The ingredients seem to be ok.

Why not stick to normal croissants? Heat them up and pour some chocolate on.

Wassalam

1 Response

  1. alfajr

    Sources state that the origin of the croissant was to represent the defeat of the Ottomon army.

    “Croissants were invented to represent the Austrians’ defeat of the Ottoman Turks in 1683.” [Strong, J. – (2011) – Educated Tastes: Food, Drink, And Connoisseur Culture – University Of Nebraska Press – p. 130].

    If this is correct, is it still permissible to eat croissants, and if it is, why?

    ——————— ———————

    Walaikumussalam w w

    If histories made things halal haram, the rulings would keep changing with time.

    However, the making of halal haram is in the hands of Allah and his Rasul.

    I have heard the history of croissants, and the reason why it’s made in the shape of a crescent. However, when the ingredients are halal then it will be halal.

Leave a Reply