The Official Site of Shaykh Abdul Raheem (hafizahullah)

Q816: Can I have syrup with glycerol?

Question:

Assalamo Alaikum,
I wanted to buy Tyxilix syrup for my 2 year old but was told it contains glycerol.
The pharmacist did not know if it was vegetarian based or not.
If it is not vegetarian based is it still jaiz to give or not?
Jazakallah

—————– —————- ——————————-

Answer:

Walaikimussalam w w

Glycerol is mostly made from animal fat and can also be made from vegetable sources.

If it is made from a vegetable source it is normally made clear on the packet or bottle. Therefore, unless you are sure it comes from a vegetable source, you will not be allowed to use it.

Medicine with Haraam ingredients can only be used when there is no alternative available. Alternatives can be found for the syrup so avoid it.

وَقَدْ وَقَعَ الِاخْتِلَافُ بَيْنَ مَشَايِخِنَا فِي التَّدَاوِي بِالْمُحَرَّمِ فَفِي النِّهَايَةِ عَنْ الذَّخِيرَةِ الِاسْتِشْفَاءُ بِالْحَرَامِ يَجُوزُ إذَا عُلِمَ أَنَّ فِيهِ شِفَاءً وَلَمْ يُعْلَمْ دَوَاءٌ آخَرُ. (البحر الرائق 5/355)

And Allah is All Knowing

Leave a Reply